Skip to content ↓

Safeguarding

At Darrington CE Primary School we recognise our moral and statutory responsibility to safeguard and promote the welfare of all children. We endeavour to provide a safe and welcoming environment where children are respected and valued. We will act quickly and follow our procedures to ensure children receive effective support, protection and justice. 

 OFSTED

"Safeguarding arrangements fully meet statutory requirements. Safeguarding and child-care training are up-to-date. Pupils are given extensive guidance to help them keep safe. For example guidance for the safe use of the internet is well known to pupils... The school’s work to keep pupils safe and secure is outstanding.  All staff are trained in safeguarding procedures and safe recruitment policies are followed meticulously.  Safety policies are clear and well known by staff." - Ofsted 2015

If you have concerns about any child at our school, please speak to one of our Designated Safeguarding Leads. 

 School designated safeguarding leads

Designated Safeguarding Lead:

Mrs L Ranby (Headteacher)

headteacher@darringtonschool.org.uk

 

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead:

Mrs S Wilton (Deputy Headteacher)

swilton@darringtonschool.org.uk

 

Early Years Safeguarding Lead:

Mrs R Beckett (EYFS Leader)

rbeckett@darringtonschool.org.uk

 

Safeguarding Governor:

Mrs H Baxter

hbaxter@darringtonschool.org.uk

 

e-Safeguarding Governor:

Mr L Dale

ldale@darringtonschool.org.uk

 

CONTACT US:  01977 722635

 local contact details

Advice for Parents and Carers:

Wakefield & District Safeguarding Children Board

 

Social Care Direct

Phone: 0345 8503 503

Minicom: 01924 303450 (type talk welcome)

Email: social_care_direct@wakefield.gov.uk

 

Local Early Help

Pontefract and Knottingley Early Help Hub

Phone: 01977 722451

 

Designated Officer (LADO)

Jean Pyett

JPyett@wakefield.gov.uk  01977 722921  or  01977 722926  

 

NSPCC Primary Schools Service

Michelle Poucher, Area Coordinator

mpoucher@nspcc.org.uk  07834 498 354

http://www.nspcc.org.uk/services-and-resources/

 

Prevent Police Officer

PC Gary Blezard

wd.prevent@westyorkshire.pnn.police.uk 

 

CSE Police Team

DA.CSE@westyorkshire.pnn.police.uk

01924 878397

 

Child Missing Education Officers

Francesca Hunter fhunter@wakefield.gov.uk  01924 307449

George Sykes  gsykes@wakefield.gov.uk  01924 3037395

 

Virtual Head for LAC

Gary Stuart

gstuart@wakefield.gov.uk 01924 307391

 

Safeguarding Advisor for Education

Vicki Maybin

vmaybin@wakefield.gov.uk 07788743527