Skip to content ↓

Early Learning goals

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. 

Your child will mostly be taught through games and play.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Your child's class teacher will assess them at the end of the school year when they turn 5. The assessment is based on classroom observation - your child won’t be tested. It uses the early learning goals, which can be found in the early years framework

The level of development children should be expected to have attained by the end of the EYFS is defined by the early learning goals (ELGs). The ELGs are not used as a curriculum or in any way limit the wide variety of rich experiences that are crucial to child development, from being read to frequently, to playing with friends. Instead, the ELGs should support your child's teachers to make a holistic, best-fit judgement about their development, and their readiness for year 1.