Skip to content ↓

Safeguarding

At Darrington CE Primary School we recognise our moral and statutory responsibility to safeguard and promote the welfare of all children. We endeavour to provide a safe and welcoming environment where children are respected and valued. We will act quickly and follow our procedures to ensure children receive effective support, protection and justice. 

Ofsted, November 2019, said that:

"The arrangements for safeguarding are effective."
"Leaders have established a vigilant and caring ethos in the school. Staff receive regular and appropriate training. They can recognise the signs that a pupil is at risk of harm. Staff are confident to report any concerns. Leaders follow up concerns rigorously and swiftly. Leaders accurately record concerns and the actions taken.
They seek support from external agencies when required so that pupils get the help that they need."
"Pupils learn to keep themselves safe, including when working online. Leaders know the risks that exist in the local area. Pupils learn about these risks through assemblies and special lessons. Leaders make strong links with local community agencies, such as the police."

If you have concerns about any child at our school, please speak to one of our Designated Safeguarding Leads. 

 School designated safeguarding leads

Designated Safeguarding Lead:

Mrs L Ranby (Headteacher)

headteacher@darringtonschool.org.uk

 

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead:

Mr C Lunn (Deputy Headteacher)

clunn@darringtonschool.org.uk

 

Early Years Safeguarding Lead:

Mrs R Beckett (EYFS Leader)

rbeckett@darringtonschool.org.uk

 

Safeguarding Governor:

Mrs G Fletcher

gfletcher@darringtonschool.org.uk

 

e-Safeguarding Governor:

 

 

 

CONTACT US:  01977 232320

 local contact details

Advice for Parents and Carers:

Wakefield & District Safeguarding Children Board

 

Social Care Direct

Phone: 0345 8503 503

Minicom: 01924 303450 (type talk welcome)

Email: social_care_direct@wakefield.gov.uk

 

Local Early Help

Pontefract and Knottingley Early Help Hub

Phone: 01977 722451

 

Designated Officer (LADO)

Jean Pyett

JPyett@wakefield.gov.uk  01977 722921  or  01977 722926  

 

NSPCC Primary Schools Service

Michelle Poucher, Area Coordinator

mpoucher@nspcc.org.uk  07834 498 354

http://www.nspcc.org.uk/services-and-resources/

 

Prevent Police Officer

PC Gary Blezard

wd.prevent@westyorkshire.pnn.police.uk 

 

CSE Police Team

DA.CSE@westyorkshire.pnn.police.uk

01924 878397

 

Child Missing Education Officers

Francesca Hunter fhunter@wakefield.gov.uk  01924 307449

George Sykes  gsykes@wakefield.gov.uk  01924 3037395

 

Virtual Head for LAC

Gary Stuart

gstuart@wakefield.gov.uk 01924 307391

 

Safeguarding Advisor for Education

Vicki Maybin

vmaybin@wakefield.gov.uk 07788743527